Top 10 institutions / ANZ / Physical sciences

Australia and New Zealand’s leading institutions for high-quality science, ordered by weighted fractional count (WFC) for 2015. Also shown are institutions’ share, the total number of articles (Count), and the change in WFC from 2012–2015. Articles are from the 68 journals that comprise the Nature Index.

2015 Institution WFC 2015 Share 2015
1 Australian National University (ANU), Australia 46.99 88.43
2 University of New South Wales (UNSW), Australia 36.62 45.24
3 The University of Melbourne (UniMelb), Australia 21.21 33.37
4 Monash University, Australia 20.89 37.52
5 The University of Queensland (UQ), Australia 18.72 21.61
6 The University of Sydney (USYD), Australia 18.51 37.16
7 The University of Western Australia (UWA), Australia 16.95 30.45
8 Swinburne University of Technology, Australia 16.68 46.36
9 The Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO), Australia 11.93 34.70
10 The University of Wollongong (UOW), Australia 8.29 8.29

Weighted fractional count (WFC) for each institution is shown to two decimal places only. When two or more institutions have the same WFC, their positions are determined by the thousandth place (or beyond).

These results are based on the most recent data available. Owing to continual refinements of the data, the figures in the database are liable to change and might differ to those printed in the supplements.

Return to 'Nature Index 2016 Australia and New Zealand’