University of Chinese Academy of Sciences (UCAS)


Located in Beijing, UCAS (University of Chinese Academy of Sciences) is a university established with the approval of Ministry of Education of PRC, focusing on graduate education. Its predecessor was GUCAS (the Graduate University of Chinese Academy of Sciences), the first graduate school in China.

In June 2012, GUCAS was renamed UCAS. It started enrolling undergraduate students for the first time, and its mission is to cultivate innovative leading talents in science and technology for the future of the nation.

Being the largest graduate education institution, UCAS' main task has long been graduate education. UCAS is authorized to confer master and doctorate degree of all science disciplines and 90% engineering disciplines. It is also authorized to confer professional master's degree of disciplines. From 1980 to 2016, UCAS had conferred degrees on 139,684 students, including 67,544 doctors and 72,140 masters. Eighty-nine graduates of UCAS were elected Full and Emeritus Members of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) and Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE).

UCAS has 4 campuses in Beijing and 5 education centers outside Beijing, which are the cornerstone of a large and dynamic education and research network incorporating more than 110 CAS institutes all over China. The network is facilitated with 3 national labs, 77 national key labs, 189 CAS key labs, 30 national engineering research centers (labs) and 23 large-scale scientific facilities.

UCAS is run by CAS, which was established in 1949. Comprising 114 institutes, CAS is China's highest academic institution in natural sciences, the highest consultant institution in science and technology, research and development center of natural science and high technology, and the most important training base for advanced scientific talents.

Buttressed by the cutting-edge research advantages and advanced human resources of CAS, UCAS is committed to building itself into a world-class university. It adopts a philosophy called "A fusion of scientific research and teaching" as its basic system of education. CAS fully supports and facilitates the fusion of UCAS and the institutes under CAS in terms of management system, faculty, training system and scientific research, so as to share the responsibilities of management and education.

Based on CAS' extensive international scientific cooperations, UCAS has established close ties and partnerships with Columbia University, University of California, Australian National University, the Max Planck Society in Germany, the National Center for Scientific Research in France, the Russian Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Sciences of the United States and many other world-renowned universities. It has jointly established the Sino-Danish College in China with the Danish Ministry of Science and Education and eight Danish public universities.

UCAS retains sole responsibility for content © 2017 University of Chinese Academy of Sciences (UCAS).

1 August 2016 - 31 July 2017

Region: Global
Subject/journal group: All

The table to the right includes counts of all research outputs for University of Chinese Academy of Sciences (UCAS) published between 1 August 2016 - 31 July 2017 which are tracked by the Nature Index.

Hover over the donut graph to view the WFC output for each subject. Below, the same research outputs are grouped by subject. Click on the subject to drill-down into a list of articles organized by journal, and then by title.

Note: Articles may be assigned to more than one subject area.

952 171.21 155.29

Outputs by subject (WFC)

Subject AC FC WFC
Life Sciences 159 24.49 24.49
Earth & Environmental Sciences 52 8.69 8.69
Physical Sciences 365 53.64 37.72
Chemistry 480 100.04 100.04

Highlight of the month

Future of fuel is up in the air

© Sol de Zuasnabar Brebbia/Moment/Getty

© Sol de Zuasnabar Brebbia/Moment/Getty

An inexpensive catalyst has improved the efficiency of converting carbon dioxide into gasoline.

Fossil fuels take millions of years to form naturally and burning them releases harmful greenhouse gases, such as methane and carbon dioxide (CO2), into the atmosphere. Capturing the waste CO2 and creating fuel from it is an appealing solution, but getting CO2 to react takes a lot of energy.

A team including researchers from the University of the Chinese Academy of Sciences created a catalyst that provides multiple points for CO2 to react with hydrogen and uses relatively cheap ingredients including sodium and iron oxides. The catalyst could be tuned to convert CO2 and hydrogen into 78 per cent of fuel-friendly hydrocarbons. It also released very little methane and remained stable for 1,000 hours.

Converting waste carbon dioxide into gasoline could reduce air pollution and fuel cars, but the cost and availability of hydrogen create an obstacle to manufacture on an industrial scale.

Supported content

  1. Nature Communications 8, 15174 (2017). doi: 10.1038/ncomms15174

View the article on the Nature Index

1 August 2016 - 31 July 2017

International vs. domestic collaboration by WFC

  • 81.57% Domestic
  • 18.43% International

Note: Hover over the graph to view the percentage of collaboration.

Top 10 domestic collaborators by WFC (270 total)

  • University of Chinese Academy of Sciences (UCAS), China
  • Domestic institution
  1. Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), China (592.32)
  2. Peking University (PKU), China (56.56)
  3. Beijing National Laboratory for Molecular Sciences (BNLMS), China (54.50)
  4. Tsinghua University (TH), China (15.74)
  5. State Key Laboratory of Polymer Physics and Chemistry (PPCL), China (14.79)
  6. ShanghaiTech University, China (11.88)
  7. Tianjin University (TJU), China (10.72)
  8. University of Science and Technology of China (USTC), China (9.81)
  9. Nankai University (NKU), China (9.19)
  10. Shanghai Jiao Tong University (SJTU), China (7.63)

Note: Collaboration is determined by the weighted fractional count (WFC), which is listed in parentheses.

Return to institution outputs